Favorite book this week

So many have probably heard the name John Green before, seeing as he’s become quite famous throughout the young adult world. John Green is a young adult writer and a talented one at that. I had heard of him brought up by friends in conversations and on the web and such, but I never really felt the need to read his books. I tend to stay away from some young adult authors because I can’t get into their writing styles. A few of my favorite books would be the Bell Jar, The Shining, Animal Farm, ect. So I wasn’t too sure about a writer who writes a lot of books about teenagers and love and such. But I finally succumbed to the pressure put on me by friends to read “looking for Alaska” and I found it quite good. I had never read a young adult book that was so.. Adult. So I read “The Fault in our Stars” next and it was just as good as Looking for Alaska, but I still wasn’t entirely sold on the opinions of him being one of the best young adult writers. Well, I saw another one of his books for sale at a store this week and decided to buy it. And it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. “Paper Towns” is definitely hands down one of the finest written young adult books I have read. It was poetically written but not drowning in overly embellished, fanciful writing. It dealt with very real relatable themes, and the characters were unique and fresh. The last chapter was probably one of the most beautifully written chapters I’ve read in a book and I found myself shedding tears in certain moments. To say I enjoyed “Paper Towns” would be an understatement. I am glad I gave John Green a chance, for he showed me that there can actually be hope for beautifully, smart, witty written young adult books.

Leave a Reply

