Bye, June

In the mood for checking out a list of awesome things? Great, ’cause here’s another end of the month favorites list! you all know how this works, so I’ll cut to the chase; here’s what I’ve been loving this past month.

Top 3 books (in no defining order- usually it’s 5, but I’ve been especially busy this month)

1) Girl on the Train (Paula Hawkins)- suspenseful and gripping, with a clever plot twist that I did NOT see coming. Love her writing style and the way she took a concept as simple as people watching and spun such a creative tale. 

2) Yes Please (Amy Poehler)– I absolutely loved this book. Written with a great sense of humor and heart. Her journey was an interesting one to read and I really liked the message she was trying to send out at the end. I didn’t think Amy’s book could match the level of quality that Tina Fey’s Bossypants achieved, but I was wrong.

3) Snow (Orhan Pamuk)- very heavy read but very informative as well. It is a political and cultural fiction novel. Nobel peace prize winner. I found it fascinating, but only recommend it to people who will commit time to reading it and have interest in examinations of politics and culture.

Top 5 songs/soundtracks/albums/artists

1) Crystals (Of Monsters and Men)- I just really like this song and this band.

2) All my friends (LCD Soundsystem)- It’s catchy and makes you want to dance with your friends and tell them how much you love them. I like how the rhythm is based off of one chord- it makes for an interesting sound.

3) I lived (One Republic)- their songs are hit and miss for me, but I actually liked this one. I really like the message it sends and it makes me feel grateful for everything I’ve been able to do in life so far.

4) Shots (Imagine Dragons)– catchy and fun to sing along to

5) Of Monsters and Men– they are a really talented group and I love their old stuff and a couple of their new songs. They have a cool sound- indie,alternative.

Top 4 Movies/tv shows (usually 5, but like I said earlier, it’s been a crazy month)

1) The Last king of Scotland– great movie! The acting was incredible and the story was intriguing all the way up to the end. Forest Whitaker did a phenomenal job and proves himself to be one of the best actors in the industry.

2) House of Cards-  I don’t know why I waited so long to watch it, because it is freaking amazing! Everything about it is great- the cinematography, the acting, the writing, the story. Netflix really showed their ability to create quality originals, what with this one, Kimmy Schmidt, and so on.

3) Housebound- I’m a horror fan but it’s so hard to find a good film to watch. Found Housebound on Netflix and saw it got pretty good reviews, so I watched it. It turned out to be a great gem- suspenseful, scary, and funny. A little far fetched but all in all a solid quality horror flick worth watching.

4) The E-Team- a netflix original. It’s a documentary about human rights activists on the frontlines of Syria and Libya. Very interesting and powerful- it can be hard to watch at times but I came away with such gratitude towards those who bravely fight in the face of atrocities.

Alright, that’s that folks. Hope you enjoyed the list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

