Classic isn’t always good

“You have to read that book, it’s a classic.”

“You haven’t seen that film? but it’s a classic.”

I think we are all familiar with those phrases and I’m pretty sure we all had to read through/sit through a classic at some point in our lives, whether for school or because your pretentious film buff friend is appalled at your taste in movies. Film majors love the pretentious stuff, by the way- I told someone at orientation for the program, that one of my favorite directors was Spielberg, and the response was “oh, that’s so mainstream.” Apparently I can’t be a film major now.

www.etonline.com

I do like classics, both film and literature- A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Psycho, To Kill A Mockingbird, Casablanca, etc. There are just some that I honestly have no interest in.

5 classic novels I detested

  1. The Scarlet Letter- all I can say for this one, is that it was a painful experience reading this god awful book.

2. Divergent- I know, not necessarily classic, but it’s a widely popular modern series which I frankly find somewhat awful. Like why does everyone like this series? I don’t get it.

www.enstarz.com

3. Romeo and Juliet– I know, everyone’s favorite star-crossed lovers. But honestly, I could care less for them. Good ol’ Shakes didn’t grab my attention with this one. I enjoy Hamlet, though

rebloggy.com

4. On the Road– I am fascinated with the whole Beat movement and the authors of that time period, but this book fell short of what I was hoping for. Just couldn’t get into the plot or the characters. All I can think of is sex, drugs and free rides.

madisonconcoursehotelweddings.tumblr.com

5. Little Women– Why I don’t like this book, is actually unclear to me, but there’s something about it that I can’t stand. Maybe it’s because I have sisters and we fight and annoy each other, so reading about them isn’t my cup of tea. I really don’t know.

5 classic films I detested

  1. Citizen Kane– this movie is like every film major’s standard class film. It’s good to be analyzed and dissected and stuff like that, but I found it quite boring to sit through. It was innovative but I had no interest in it. That’s the exact opposite of what you should tell the pretentious film majors.

www.buzzfeed.com

2. Star wars- I’m sorry, but I’m about to disrespect a widely loved film. I have no intention of watching any more of it after seeing an hour of the first one. I can’t get into sci-fi films like these and I have no shame in saying so. although I do get a lot of “what?! you’re a film major, you should like star wars. it’s a classic.”

geekie-chic.blogspot.com

and that, ladies and gentlemen, is exactly the point of this post.

3. Say Anything– you know, the one with the classic scene where the guy holds the boombox above his head outside his crush’s window? yea, I kind of hated that movie.

detodoconbeth.wordpress.com 

4.Fatal Attraction– I had high hopes for this one but I was ultimately let down. the only thing fatal about the film was my choice to see it.

www.gifwave.com

5. Pocahontas– so inaccurate. so so inaccurate. just wrong. and I usually like the Disney classics.

disneyhub.blogspot.com

There you have it! What  movies/books make you cringe?

6 thoughts on “Classic isn’t always good

Leave a Reply

