November Favorites

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a wonderful thanksgiving 🙂 It’s now that time of year where I lose my mind a little over the semester ending, exams, and the idea of Christmas in three weeks. So, I realized I didn’t do my monthly favorites for November. Here they are. Enjoy!

2 books/articles

  1. Dandelion Wine (Ray Bradbury)– It’s a rather simple story about growing up and coming of age. Set in just one summer, the boy’s experiences are modeled after Bradbury’s own childhood. It’s sweet, nostalgic, funny, and a little heartbreaking at times.
  2. Little, Big (John Crowley)– a strange book, very different, in kind of a mystical, magical way. I can’t exactly describe it because it’s so involved and symbolic of many things.  The author can be excessive with descriptions at times, so I admit to skimming certain passages but over all, it was a unique and interesting experience.

4 songs/artists/soundtracks

  1. Mockingjay Pt.2 score– James Newton Howard has always been a pretty amazing composer. I love his work and I actually didn’t know he did the score for THG. I looked it up after seeing this installment with my family because I really noticed the music was so well done.   
  2. Young Blood (The Districts)– This song is a little long but it’s worth a listen. A song off their 2015 album A Flourish and a Spoil.                          
  3. Let it all go (Birdy ft. Rhodes) – I love Birdy and her songs are always so full of heart and beautiful melodies. This song is one of my favorites. The harmonies in the duet are wonderful and the music video itself is outstanding. The colors and photography are gorgeous.  
  4. Birdy– She is definitely my artist for this month. I have only recently started listening to her. Her voice is so pretty and a lot of her songs are piano based which I love. Wings, Let it all go and Skinny Love (a cover) are my top favorites.

3 films/tv shows

  1. Mockingjay part 2– My sisters are huge fans of THG so my family went to see the last part over break and I have to say I really enjoyed it. In my opinion, it was the best one. It was scored beautifully and the performances were very good. I found the themes it dealt with, interesting, how it reflected the world’s current and past social conflicts. At times it was hauntingly similar to our current situation with the plight of refugees and countries in the midst of violent conflict and terrorism.
  2. Me and Earl and The Dying Girl– SEE THIS FILM. It’s beautiful and funny and affecting. Plus the cinematography is AMAZING. So well shot. I found it on payperview and wasn’t expecting too much since it’s a YA film and deals with the same kind of story as other film’s in that genre like Fault in our Stars. But this was so much better than the FINOS. It avoided many cliches and stuck with me after I had seen it.
  3. Winter on Fire– A Netflix original documentary about Ukraine during 2013 and 2014 as student demonstrations turned into a violent revolution. Very well done and informative. It really gave insight into the students’ fight for freedom and their willingness to give everything they had in order to fight for human rights.
  4. Modern Family– I started binge-watching this show a couple weeks ago when I was sick and now I am obsessed. How have I not watched this show before. It’s so funny and well written. A fantastic comedy series.
Leave a Reply

