December favorites

Hi lovely readers! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday. I went on a hiatus for the past month or so, while I had a lot going on lately, but I am back and ready to start the new year with some new posts. First up is the monthly favorites list, since I haven’t done one for December yet.

3 books/articles

1) What we don’t know about each other (Lawrence Raab)– a book of some of his poetry- each poem is precisely placed and deals with the line between what is real and what is possible, compelling you to think about the possibilities we have passed up and to remember the people we once were. They are beautifully crafted and thought provoking.

2) The goldfinch (Donna Tartt)– wow what a book. I read it in two days, all 776 pages. Gripping and nicely written, it really held my attention and kept me wondering what was going to happen next. It can get a bit descriptive and slow at times but all in all, the story is such a sweeping and beautifully told one.

3) Why not me (Mindy Kaling)–  I love this girl and can definitely see her eventually joining the ranks of talented woman comics like Tina Fey and Amy Poehlr. I read her first book (is everybody hanging out without me?) and loved it. Her second one may not reach that same level as her first but it was still very funny, quirky and honest- which is why I love her.

4 songs/artists/soundtracks

1) The 1975– I recently started listening to some of the songs from this British rock band and now I am obsessed. Their songs are really fun to sing along and dance to and have a great sound- a bit retro with rock and slight indie pop influences. One of my favorite songs by them is Love Me.

2) Fire Escape (Foster The People)– This is a really beautiful song, very simple as far as the instruments and vocals used, but the lyrics are incredibly powerful.

3) Backyard (Of Monsters and Men)– one of the bonus tracks off of their newest album. It has a really cool sound, really moody and intense. Definitely becoming one of my favorites by them.

4) Mr. Redundant (Rainbow Kitten Surprise)– Now I don’t know what the hell is up with their name but I do know that this song by them is so infectious and catchy. I have never heard of the band until my friend played me this song but now that she did, I’m going to be one of those people you see at a stoplight, jumping around in their car with a huge smile.

3 films/t.v shows

1) Brooklyn– What a beautiful film. I saw this last week and was blown away by how good it was. I wasn’t expecting much because of the story- boy meets girl, girl moves away, etc.- but wow, it was so much more. It was a moving and insightful character study; focused more on the depth and idea behind each character, especially the two main ones, than on plot and action. Beautiful cinematography and incredible acting. Pure classic romantic cinema.

2) Enemy– Saw this on t.v and was really impressed. I hadn’t heard about it until I found it while flipping channels. Jake Gyllenhal plays the lead and puts on quite an amazing performance. The story itself is trippy and requires a bit of thinking and attention. But I really enjoyed how clever and unique it was. A must see for fans of films with non linear plots, twisty story lines and crazy endings- along the lines of Donny Darko, Memento, Mulholland Drive.

3) Hannibal– recently started watching this show online and I’m really enjoying it so far. The story is interesting and I like how it strays from the typical crime show- it’s not formulaic and nothing is obvious or what is seems. The score should be noted for it’s atmospheric quality and dark tones. Very well done.

Alright, that’s it for now! I’m always looking for new films and such, so feel free to leave some recommendations in the comments. Let me know what you’re faves were for December 🙂 Happy New year everyone!

Leave a Reply

