Monthly Favorites!

Hi all! I hope everyone had a great first month of the new year. I have been in the process of working on a few new posts so keep an eye out this month for some new stuff- I know there hasn’t been too much activity lately, but bear with me and my crazy school life. Since we have reached the end of January, here is my monthly favorites list! Enjoy 🙂

Top books/articles

  1. The Translator (John Crowley)– Beautiful and heartbreaking at times. I read it in two days, absolutely captivated by the author’s writing and the story. I was introduced to Crowley when I picked up his book Little, Big and really enjoyed his style, so this is the second book I’ve read by him. I’m looking forward to reading more.
  2. A Variety opinion piece on The Oscar’s diversity issue (Tim Gray)– I thought this article brought up a good point on the issue- Racial exclusion goes deeper than the Academy, it’s not even really the root of the problem. There’s a lack of diversity in the industry itself, in the employment opportunities for minorities. Read more about it here.

Top songs/albums/soundtracks/artists

  1. Head. Cars. Bending. (The 1975)– A really cool song with an interesting sound. I love the beat and melody, even though the lyrics aren’t a prominent part.

2. West Coast (The Neighborhood)– I only know one other song by them- Sweater Weather- but this one has a really different sound. I love the lyrics, they’re a bit sarcastic and biting, but so true.

3. Room score– Room was scored beautifully and I really thought it complemented the film nicely. A soaring and yet quiet melody that at times tugs on the heartstrings.

Top films/tv 

  1. Room– One of the BEST  films I’ve seen in a long, long time. Absolutely incredible and hard to fault. I was blown away by the acting and cinematography, and pretty much loved everything about it. Yes, it was very emotionally taxing and the subject is dark, but the film was executed wonderfully.
  2. The Big Short– I really enjoyed this one. I thought it did well with balancing comedy and the all too real crisis that Americans went through in 2008-09. My favorite part, besides the acting, was the way it put all those complicated financial terms and ideas into an easy to understand context.
  3. Spotlight– another great film. Was not my favorite- Room and Brokklyn are tied for that, but it came close. GREAT cast and writing.

A side note: I was extremely disappointed in The Revenant. Lacked big time in script and character development. I honestly could have cared less about the characters- there was no emotional connection for me and I felt like a couple of plot lines were randomly thrown in and then forgot about. Great acting and cinematography, but everything else was sub-par.

Leave a Reply

