Earth Love

Hi all! So yesterday was crazy busy and I didn’t get time to make my usual Earth Day post 😦 which is sad because it’s my favorite day! But nevertheless, I will post a belated Earth Day tribute. Hope you all had a wonderful celebration of our lovely planet and remember, every day is earth day! (photo creds- myself)

beach

 

A few quotes about our home:

“Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.”

Cree Indian proverb

“To see a world in a grain of sand, And a heaven in a wild flower, Hold infinity in the palm of your hand, And eternity in an hour.”

William Blake

flowerr

“You cannot get through a single day without having an impact on the world around you. What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.”

Jane Goodall

“Today I have grown taller from walking with the trees.”

Karle Wilson Baker

“Why should I care about future generations? What have they ever done for me?”

Groucho Marx

tree

Last year I featured “More Than Honey” as the documentary to watch in honor of Earth Day. This year I have chosen one of my favorite docs, “Sharkwater.” This film sheds light on the shark fin industry and the exploitation of such beautiful and amazing creatures. Sharks are some of the most misunderstood animals and people do not realize how vital they are to our oceans’ ecosystems.

The doc can be hard to watch at times because of the graphic and horrible way in which these sharks ae treated, but it really is an impactful experience and I learned a lot when I first saw it junior year in marine bio. Every plant and animal on this earth is worth something and more important to this planet than us humans. Humans cannot live without earth, but earth can live without us.

Leave a Reply

