Monthly Favorites: October

So October has flown by and we’re reaching the end unfortunately. This Friday I’m turning TWENTY which I still can’t believe is happening, and yesterday news reached the UCF campus that President Obama is coming to speak on campus Friday. OBAMA. AT MY SCHOOL. It might just be the greatest moment of my life. But while I’m internally freaking out, here is the monthly favorites list for October! Happy early Halloween everyone 🙂

Books/Articles

  1. The Magus(John Fowels)– What an incredible piece of work. I was captivated throughout its 700 something pages, and couldn’t put it down. The story is a complex and mind bending one. A guy goes to a remote Greek island to teach and meets a mysterious man who weaves him into a twisted web of psychological games. Very suspenseful and well written, as well as beautiful descriptions of greece.
  2. Where’d You Go, Bernadette (Maria Semple)– I really enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting and amusing, as well as the satire of the suburban community. Semple writes with biting humor and I loved her jabs at the suburban prissy moms. There were heartfelt moments as well, and the end was really touching.
  3. A Room of One’s Own (Virginia Woolf)– I appreciated the themes in the book, and found the way Woolf presented her ideas, clever. Her work examines the history of authors alongside gender, and the inequality women experience in the field. Of course, we’ve come a long way since then, but the general ideas are still applicable.

Music

  1. Friends (Francis and The Lights, ft. Bon Iver and Kanye West)– I have never heard of Francis and The Lights, but I love Bon Iver, so  when this song came up on my Pandora station, I gave it a listen. Its the type of song I normally wouldn’t listen to, but I actually got hooked on the sound of it.

2. Wake Up The Sun (Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros)– This song is beautiful and has an important message about finding everything you want in life, inside of yourself. “All that you wanted, was all that you found in your heart.” A beautiful lyric. The music video is phenomenal as well. Incredible photography and unique movement throughout the video. It’s a work of art, as their videos usually are.

3. Anchor (Novo Amor)– I fell in love with how beautiful this song was, the first time I heard it. For me personally, it impacted me emotionally  and the lyrics are meaningful. Great song and a really melodic sound which just makes me want to lay in a sunny spot, close my eyes and drift off.

TV/Film

  1. The Time in Between– I found this series on Netflix and I’m really enjoying it so far. It’s a Spanish series, set in the world war two era in Spain/Morocco/Portugal. The story is intriguing, the costumes are beautiful and I love the lead actress. She’s incredibly talented and gorgeous. I love the locations they film at too- they’re beautiful. Portugal, Morocco, and Spain are all included, which makes for wonderful scenic eye candy.
  2. Black Christmas– This 70’s horror flick was completely unknown to me until I found it on a list of recommended movies and decided to give it a watch. I actually really liked it. The whole premise sounds a bit hokey, but the film’s execution was well done, for being a slasher flick.
  3.  Westworld– Sunday nights are now something to look forward to, because of this show. HBO has done a great job with this series so far, and I’m intrigued to see where it goes. The whole concept is interesting, posing questions about human nature, morality and the issue with the hosts of the park: if something is so real and lifelike, how do we draw boundaries around what’s real and what isn’t. Further more, the actions of the scientists on the show give the viewer food for thought. If these hosts are subjected to whatever actions the guests do in the park, both good and horribly bad, is it ethical or responsible to mess with the cognition of the hosts in a way that would advance their emotional intelligence even more?  Awesome score and cinematography as well!

 

 

Leave a Reply

